New pilot-to-be

Discussion in 'The Pipe' started by lebowski, Nov 28, 2018.

Help Support The Pipe by donating:

1. Nov 28, 2018 #1

lebowski

lebowski

lebowski

Hi everyone,

I recently received my class date on the ERJ. My background is instructing mainly in the old 152, career-changer. The few current and former xjt guys I met have been helpful and honest about the company. I picked the company for the base and the training department...hopefully in time I will look back and I made the right choice.

2. Nov 28, 2018 #2

f/o shizzle

f/o shizzle

f/o shizzle

It's a gamble. You're either A) going to look silly because of your choice or B) look like a genius if/when certain things come to pass in January. Welcome aboard, and don't hesitate to ask for help from your fellow classmates, instructors, or online as well. ALPA has some great resources and are there to help if you need,

Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  3. Nov 28, 2018 #3

lebowski

lebowski

lebowski

Thanks for the info. Do you have any recoomendations on how I can prepare for training? I am just instructing mainly primary students, and I have a fear of washing out. I have watched a few friends resign during training from other carriers and I do not want to join them. Thanks again.

4. Nov 28, 2018 #4

f/o shizzle

f/o shizzle

f/o shizzle

Don’t worry about washing out. They’ll work with you and as long as you put forth the effort, you’ll be fine.

Memorize the limitations. Come to class knowing the flows. Cold. Have someone call out different flows and know how to run them. Have that down pat before training and you’re ahead of the game.

If you have a flight simulator on your computer, use it. Practice flying with the glass cockpit, basic BAI stuff. It’s a lot different than the 6 pack we were all accustomed to.

Ask for help.

5. Nov 28, 2018 #5

Zero-G

Zero-G

Zero-G

I don’t know if they send you the poster anymore. If they do, sit in front of it and practice your flows. Learn the memory items.